Join us!
Donate Now!
Learn How
Learn How

Robust? : Environmental Regulation of Coal Mining in Alberta. Virtual Town Hall – June 8, 2021

June 9, 2021

Alberta’s Rocky Mountains and Foothills are facing an unprecedented threat; coal mining exploration and development in the Eastern slopes has the capacity to pollute vital headwaters and completely dismantle fragile ecosystems.

In January 2021, Environment and Parks Minister Jason Nixon tried to soothe Albertans’ concerns about opening up the Rockies and Foothills to coal mining with these words:

“We have a robust regulatory system – significantly more robust than in 1976, and environmental regulations have come a long way since then.”

On June 8 2021, AWA, in collaboration with the Coal Policy Working Group and other ENGOs and concerned citizens, hosted the fourth in our ongoing series of Town Hall evenings to look carefully at Minister Nixon’s claim. Each town hall in this series is comprised of a panel of speakers that will share their expertise and experiences with the audience, in addition to answering questions.

On this occasion. we were joined by three experts: Mandy Olsgard, B.Sc., M.Sc., Senior Toxicologist and Risk Assessor with Integrated Toxicology Solutions; William Donahue, Ph.D., LL.B., Independent Consultant, Environmental Risk Assessment; and Colton Vessey, M.Sc.: a Ph.D student in Environmental Geochemistry and Mineralogy, University of Alberta.

A recording of this evening’s Town Hall on Environmental Regulation of Coal Mining in Alberta can be viewed on YouTube here.

If you would like to get involved in the issue of coal mining in Alberta, please consider writing a letter to the appropriate decision maker. AWA is recommending that letters be sent to the Hon. Jonathan Wilkinson, federal Minister of the Environment and Climate Change, and that they be copied to provincial decision makers.

Contact info for Minister Wilkinson, and relevant provincial ministers and leaders, can be found below. This information is also on a downloadable PDF that can be found here [Download].

The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson
Minister of Environment and Climate Change

House of Commons
Ottawa, ON   K1A 0A6
Phone: (613) 995-1225
Fax: (613) 992-7319

  • Honourable Jason Kenney
    Premier of Alberta

    Office of the Premier
    #307 Legislature Building
    10800 – 97 Avenue NW
    Edmonton, AB   T5K 2B6
    Phone: (780) 427-2251
    Fax: (780) 427-1349

  • Honourable Jason Nixon
    Minister of Environment and Parks

    #323 Legislature Building
    10800 – 97 Avenue NW
    Edmonton, AB   T5K 2B6
    Phone: (780) 427-2391
    Fax: (780) 422-6259

  • Honourable Sonya Savage
    Minister of Energy

    #324 Legislature Building
    10800 – 97 Avenue NW
    Edmonton, AB   T5K 2B6
    Phone: (780) 427-3740
    Fax: (780) 422-1222

  • Honourable Rachel Notley
    Leader of the Opposition

    5th Floor, 9820 – 107 Street NW
    Edmonton, AB   T5K 1E7
  • Your MLA – You can find contact info for your MLA at the Legislative Assembly of Alberta website:

As always, we appreciate if you would copy AWA’s Conservation Director Ian Urquhart on any such correspondence you send.

© 1965 - 2023, Alberta Wilderness Association. | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Federally Registered Charity Number 118781251RR0001 Website design by Build Studio